Would You Boogie for Productivity?

Yesterday our new “Boogie Board Sync 9.7” arrived. I’m testing it out to see how it would work for faculty and staff as a classroom and productivity tool. As promoted on the Boogie Board website: “Now you can digitally create page after page of notes and drawings without sacrificing the writing experience. The Boogie Board Sync 9.7 saves your images and wirelessly transfers to your phone, tablet, or computer via Bluetooth.” Share with Evernote, email, and social media with the Sync desktop and mobile applications. The part that intrigued me about the Boogie Board was its ability to display images in real-time on a PC monitor or projector.

Here is a picture of my new Boogie Board:

photo 2 (5)

My thoughts so far:

PRO

  • It is very EASY to use. There is a simple on/off switch and save and erase buttons.
  • The wireless sync works.
  • The desktop app and mobile app are both very easy to use.
  • It is thin and light weight!
  • It genuinely feels like writing! I have used many stylus tools and this board has a nice “feel” to it. I love the fact that I can rest my wrist down and it does not leave a mark!
  • It syncs easily to Evernote, social media, and email.
  • Software is free
  • Price! This currently sells for $82.97 on Amazon! WOW!
  • Works as a mouse using the digitizer tool.

CON:

  • The screen is dark – but works fine for me. Some individuals may have a hard time with the dark screen.
  • There is NO erase button. This is the hardest thing for me. I tend to like “neat” notes and when I make mistakes, I like to erase and write again. You can’t do that. All you can do is scratch out or erase the whole thing and start over.
  • In order to use the live virtual whiteboard feature, you have to run the Sync software with Bluetooth for wireless use. It is free, so that can go up in the Pro section! Our classroom computers do not have Bluetooth, but a Bluetooth Dongle can be purchased for around $15 that would work. OR, if you have an iPad, use the Sync app on the iPad and project it to the class through the Apple TV.

Improvements I’d like to see:

  • Light screen toggle option
  • Erasing
  • The ability to pull up a document (PDF) in order to write on it.
  • Saving to Google Drive

Overall, I am very satisfied with it. It is comfortable, thin, light, easy to use, and affordable!

photo 1 (7)Thin yet durable!  Very light weight.

photo 3 (1)Picture of mobile application. Once you write, you can share it by dragging the middle button to how you want to share using”Drag to Share”. I shared via email and it opened up my email program nicely!

photo 4 (1)

It will even show my drawings in real-time using the mobile draw tool.

photo

 

Leave a Reply

