What’s on His iPad?

Image

My son had been waiting for the day – the day I would get a new iPad. That’s because he knew he would be getting my old one. In fact, he even drove me to CostCo about 2 months ago hoping I would buy one early. But I just couldn’t do it. Santa was very good to me and gave me a new Apple iPad mini. I wanted to downsize in size, and upgrade in memory! What’s the first thing he did with my old iPad? Wipe it clean! Yep, he took everything off so that he could start fresh. It got me thinking…what was he going to choose to put on it?

Hence, my blog posts the next few days will be a series on “What’s on His (or Her) iPad?”. I will showcase my husband (Lee), son (Brett), daughter (Lauren), and finally myself (me)! I always like to know what other people choose to put on their devices so I am hoping you will enjoy knowing as well!

We’ll start off with Brett, my son. He is 22 and studying Physics. He adores reading and anything math or science related so I wasn’t surprised that his apps reflected his personality.

IMG_2696

His favorite app is Wolfram Chemistry. (View video here.)

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 10.09.24 AM

The app covers topics applicable to Introductory Chemistry, General Chemistry, and AP Chemistry including the ability to compute enthalpy, equilibrium constant, and theoretical yield of a reaction. It performs over 45 different computations. As a Physics and Chemistry tutor at a local college, he says it will be useful to quickly look things up as needed. Plus, he just thinks it’s cool.

He also really enjoys Math Pad.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 10.12.45 AM

Basically, this app allows one to handwrite a complex math equation and it will be rendered into a digital equivalent for easy sharing. It exports the equation in LaTeX, MathML, or as an image.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 10.20.19 AMAnd, I have to tell you that he is planning on getting a tatoo this week using this app. Yes, indeed. He is going to write out his equation, then bring it in via the app to give them a great digital version to work off of.

He only chose to download 3 more apps which are featured in no particular order.

TED

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 10.22.36 AM

Brett’s morning routine is to watch a TED video. He always has something new he learns from TED!  He loves to share, “Did you know…” stories.

Desmos

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 10.25.00 AM

Desmos is a graphing calculator app. “Plot functions, create tables, add sliders, animate your graphs, and more — all for free.” It can even be used offline!

Relaxing Sounds

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 10.28.02 AM

This one was a surprise to me! I guess he likes listening to relaxing sounds of nature! When I saw his iPad, he had either “wind” or “water” playing – I can’t remember. I do know he takes quick 20 minute power naps. Maybe this helps!

Be watching for my next blog featuring Lauren!

Leave a Reply

