The Manly iPad

Today’s post features my awesome husband, Lee. We’ve been married 27+ years and he is the most devoted, hard-working person I know. He gives selflessly. And – he’s fun, too.

Image (1)

One thing about Lee – he is not a technologist. He rarely uses a computer and not too long ago I had to review email skills with him, bless his heart. But, he does love using his iPad. Why? It’s easy! One click and it is on. He’s a hands-on person and much prefers to be outside working on the yard or our ’48 Plymouth. I told him I would be blogging about his iPad and asked him what his favorite app was. His answer? Safari! Lol. I didn’t want to tell him it wasn’t really an app.  He uses his iPad mostly for the Internet – looking up car parts or listening to engine sounds…really!

I finally got him to narrow down to more specifics and this is what I found…his iPad apps are almost all news related.

ABC News app

CNN app

Fox News app

Yes, they are all news apps. But I do know this next one is his favorite:

USA Today

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 3.08.14 PM

I even use the USA Today app as my news source. We don’t have television at home, so I rely on this app for my news coverage. “Here’s what’s new in USA TODAY for iPad v3.0: Deeper, richer and more visual storytelling as well as some great new features… Choose your news headlines view: scan the headlines with “List” or lean back and enjoy the image-rich Grid view.” You can save articles to read later, as well!

GoDocs

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 3.12.32 PM

If you use Google Docs or Drive, this is a great app. View your documents, spreadsheets, and even video files all stored on your drive. It has offline capabilities.

Dragon Dictation

“With Dragon Dictation you can also dictate status updates directly to your Social Networking applications (Facebook and Twitter) or send notes and reminders to yourself….all using your voice.  So when you’re on-the-go, stop typing and start speaking – from short text messages to longer email messages, and anything in between.”  I don’t think Lee has used this one much, but it is there if he ever needs it!

That’s all! Yep – his iPad doesn’t have many apps – but he is perfectly happy with it.

Tomorrow I’ll feature my iPad!

Leave a Reply

