What’s on My iPad?

IMG_2735

This is the final section of my 4 part series on our family iPads! I am concluding with my own mini iPad. I got a new mini iPad for Christmas and am trying to do a better job of not “clogging it up” with unnecessary photos and apps. I have a total of 236 apps! Yes, way too many. And no – they are not all on my iPad! Right now I have 26 apps on my iPad, and many are the apps that came with it. The rest reside in my iTunes cloud in case I want to call them up some day! I  often will download an app, then find that I don’t use it so I delete it.

IMG_2736

The first essential element to my mini iPad is the keyboard case. As you can see from the picture, I use a Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Folio. I purchased “new” but when it came I am pretty sure it was used due to the slight scratches on the keyboard. But, I did get it for a good price on Amazon and it works great so I am happy with it. Really, I use my iPad in place of my computer unless I am at work. I prefer the small size, portability, and instant on ease. I can get everything done that I need to do with an iPad.

I have written in other blog posts about the apps that I commonly use:

Evernote

Screen Shot 2014-01-06 at 10.53.51 AM

Collect web articles, hand-written notes, and photos all in one place across all devices.

Penultimate

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 9.35.51 AM

I use this with my jot writer because I love writing by hand!

LinkedIn – Stay in touch professionally.

Twitter

twitter

Twitter is my source for professional development!

I do have some apps that I haven’t written about that I love using. The first is common, Instagram.

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 9.41.01 AM

I adore looking at pictures and I definitely prefer Instagram over Facebook. It’s a simple way to capture life’s moments with your iphone and share with others. The built in filters are awesome.

IMG_2737

Pages

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 9.54.20 AM

If I am going to use a regular word processor, Pages is my choice over Word simply because I am use to it. The Pages app has beautiful templates built in. I can easily add text, images, and shapes and my keyboard helps give it the computer feel. I am easily able to import and edit Word documents as well. It syncs across all devices. If I am collaborating with someone, however, I definitely would choose Google Docs. There simply isn’t anything that allows for easier sharing and collaboration.

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 9.59.32 AM

YouTube

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.01.42 AM

Most Americans are familiar with YouTube. It’s not a fancy app – but I use it all the time! Whether viewing videos for work or fun, it’s the way to watch a YouTube video on a small device. I subscribe to one station that is my morning favorite – Good Mythical Morning. Yes, it is silly and goofy and that is why I love it! Rhett and Link are hilarious. If you aren’t familiar with it, here is a sample video for you to watch – Will It Donut? They have over 5 million subscribers, and yes, I am one of them.

Elevate

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.21.26 AM

Elevate was Apple’s 2014 app of the year and I love it! As I get older, I want to continue “working out” my brain and this app sends you a new set of daily challenges.  “Elevate is a brain training program designed to improve focus, speaking abilities, processing speed, memory, math skills, and more. Each person is provided with a personalized training program that adjusts over time to maximize results.

The more you train with Elevate, the more you’ll improve critical cognitive skills that are proven to boost productivity, earning power, and self-confidence. Users who train at least 4 times per week have reported dramatic gains and increased confidence.” Elevate your brain!

Evernote Food

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.33.21 AM

I love baking, finding new recipes, and eating! We try to eat very healthy in our house – whole foods and often (but not always) paleo. Evernote food allows you to explore recipes, save recipes from my own reserve or the web, and add pictures and notes from restaurants.

1Password

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.46.11 AM

Passwords could drive me crazy. This app was also voted best of 2014. It is a password vault and luckily I only have to remember 1 password to get in. “1Password creates strong, unique passwords for every site, remembers them all for you, and logs you in with a single tap.”

Finally, Rhonna Designs.

Screen Shot 2014-01-13 at 2.36.12 PM

I did write about Rhonna Designs a few months ago but want to make sure I include it again. It’s an easy app to edit photos with frames, masks, designs, and fonts. It’s great for creating inspirational word art.

Image-1 (2)

I wish you all a wonderful New Year! Happy 2015!

Leave a Reply

