The Water Effect

On a beginning note…this has nothing to do with technology so if you want to skip this post, I understand. But, I hope you will read on! Since technology is such a great tool, I want to share one way YOU can make a difference…

In 2013 I traveled with World Vision and was able to meet 2 of my 4 sponsored children. I visited Abaya, Ethiopia, and was able to see all that World Vision truly does for the families…providing clean water, an education, training, medical, and even nutritional needs.  As a Child Ambassador, I am committed to helping children in need.

D485-0591-118_535976

Right now World Vision is promoting clean water and as a blogger, I want to pass it on. I have SEEN first hand the water of Ethiopia before World Vision provided fresh water (wells) to the villagers of Abaya. I was able to visit the watering hole and even pick up one of those HEAVY 5 gallon jugs of water. I don’t know how those women actually balance it on their heads…I could barely walk 10 feet with one! The water was filthy, muddy, and infested with worms.  This is the water that the families used for everything…drinking and bathing until World Vision built a community well with access to fresh, clean water.

Water_Effect_Horz_Warm_Grey

Every day, nearly 1,600 children under 5 die from diarrhea caused by contaminated water, poor sanitation, and improper hygiene. Globally, 1 in 9 people lack access to clean water! Those are amazingly sad statistics.

Would you like to be a part of providing fresh water to a child in need? Contact me! I have many children that need sponsoring!

 

Leave a Reply

