The SIMPLEST Way to Search for an App!

There is one, simple way to complete a Google search for awesome apps. But first…

If I make a new year resolution, I will do all I can to keep it.  Two years ago I made a bold move to make a resolution to no longer use disposable water bottles. I purchased a Klean Kanteen and used it ALL year for water and iced tea. I did the same last year and will keep it again this year. It has become a habit – a nice one, at that!

camelbak_giveaway_feature

That’s why I have entered the above giveaway – #DitchDisposable. I could use a new canteen!

I gave up reading the newspaper in the morning last year and replaced the newspaper reading time with devotional/Bible reading. I have kept that resolution as well. It’s another great habit. So what is new this year? I decided to make a resolution to eat more whole foods and less sugar. Notice – I didn’t say I wouldn’t eat sugar – because I know I wouldn’t keep it! And, resolving to eat whole foods is easy because it is pretty much what I do right now anyway. I am just going to try a little harder to pass on the extra cookie here and there.

Thus – the reason for this post. What is the SIMPLEST way to search for an app?  Google Search! Recently I took a course on creating an effective Google search and learned that Google has a search for “app” built right in! I decided to test it out with my whole food resolution.

First, I navigated to Google and typed in the words “Whole Food”.  Then, I clicked “more” and “apps” as seen here:

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.03.53 PM

Notice by typing in the words “Whole Food” the search came with the most obvious – Whole Foods Market (which is my #1 grocery shopping source). But I wanted apps – right? By clicking “more” and “apps” here is what resurfaced:

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.03.22 PM

Awesome! Now, I know what some of you are thinking – why not just go to the app store or iTunes and search? I could do that, too. But it’s great to know that Google will search apps for me. I can take it a step further by clicking search tools and I can narrow the search by price:

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.08.47 PM

I am a happy camper. I ended up downloading this app:

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.15.55 PM

Forks Over Knives  $4.99

They say “There’s an app for that.” Test out your resolution with a new app!

Leave a comment